Ahead of Maharashtra civic polls, 15 new outfits register with state election commission

Mumbai: Even as the Maharashtra Election Commission derecognised several political parties for failing to comply with necessary financial documents, as many as 15 new outfits have got themselves registered in the last few days.

Representational image. PTI

Representational image. PTI

Elections to over 200 municipal councils in different parts of Maharashtra will be held during the year-end, while zilla parishad and corporation elections will be held in early 2017.

An official in the State Election Commission said 340 political parties are now registered with it. Out of 340, there are 17 regional and national parties, while remaining are all localised outfits who want to contest local bodies election as a political party.

Of the 15 newly registered parties, there are interesting names like Kaku-nana Vikas Agadhi, Amhi Jaisingpurkar Nagrik Vikas Agadhi.

The other parties include National Black Panther, Krantikari Shetkari Paksh, Malshiras Nagri Agadhi, Bahujan Mukti Party, Janshakti Agadhi Karad, Srimant Bhaiyyasaheb Rajemane Panel, Badamrao Pandit Mitra Mandal, Karad Shahar Nagri Vikas Agadhi, Janaadhar Vikas party, Movement for Indian Muslim Agadhi, Labour Party Maharashtra, Rashtriya Veer Yodha Sanghatna, Janshakti Vikas Agadhi Selu.

Published Date: Oct 02, 2016 12:48 PM | Updated Date: Oct 02, 2016 12:48 PM

Also See