In association with

20 committees, 100 rallies: How BJP plans to take on the Congress

The BJP on Friday announced 20 committees and 100 rallies for the Lok Sabha elections in 2014 which would be 'steered by' Narendra Modi.

"The BJP will hold more than 100 rallies across the country. These will be arranged by Ananth Kumar and Varun Gandhi. We will begin our campaign from August," said BJP leader Ananth Kumar.

Image for representation only. AFP

Image for representation only. AFP

He said the manifesto committee would be headed by Murli Manohar Joshi and the vision document would be prepared under the leadership of Nitin Gadkari. The latter has also been given the responsibility of managing the upcoming assembly elections in Delhi. He would be assisted by Navjot Singh Sidhu.

Kumar said, "Our electronic and print media campaign will be headed by Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley, Sudhanshu Trivedi and Amit Shah."

He said the BJP has decided to target the first time voters. Amit Shah, Navjot Singh Sidhu, Trivendra Rawat and Poonam Mahajan will be responsible for the campaign.

"Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Prakash Javadekar and Tamil Esai will be responsible for mobilising intellectuals," he said.

Kumar said the BJP has decided to prepare a charge sheet against the Congress-led UPA government to expose its misdeeds. "Ravi Shankar Prasad, Gopinath Munde, Nirmala Sitharama and Meenakshi Lekhi will be responsible for it. We will bring to light all the things they have done wrong."

Published Date: Jul 19, 2013 20:19 PM | Updated Date: Jul 19, 2013 20:19 PM

Also See