In association with

Shimla Municipal Corporation polls: Counting begins as BJP looks for first win

Shimla: Counting of votes for the 34 seats of the Shimla Municipal Corporation began on Saturday, election officials said in the city.

The fate of 126 candidates, including 50 female candidates, will be decided during the day.

Nearly 58 per cent of over 91,000 electors exercised their franchise in the voting held on Friday.

Tibetans in exile also exercised their franchise in the elections to the oldest municipal corporation in the country after Chennai and Kolkata.

Representational image. AFP

Representational image. AFP

The main contest is between the ruling Congress and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which is trying to get at the helm for the first time.

However, the candidates did not contest on party symbols.

The BJP has supported 34 candidates, the Congress 27 and the CPM 22 candidates. The Communists are supporting six independents.

The Shimla civic body had been ruled by the Congress for 26 years in a row until the last elections.

In 2012, CPM won the mayor and deputy mayor posts as also election for one councillor's seat. It thus ruled the Shimla Municipal Corporation with only three members in the 25-seat house — the majority of the councillors were from the Congress.

Published Date: Jun 17, 2017 10:49 AM | Updated Date: Jun 17, 2017 10:49 AM

Also See