Power crisis: Eight CMs to meet Moily on Monday

Eight northern states will discuss on Monday with Union Power Minister Veerapa Moily the issues they face in electricity transmission and distribution. Moily had last week called a meeting of Chief Ministers
of Punjab, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh, J&K, Rajasthan and Delhi after the country witnessed one of the worst-ever power crises that hit lives of over 60 crore people.

"Some of the states have confirmed their participation while some are yet to confirm," a Power Ministry official said.

Northern, Eastern and North-Eastern grids had collapsed on Tuesday afternoon hitting power supply to 21 states. The states affected included Delhi, Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Haryana, West Bengal, Chhattisgarh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Odisha, Sikkim, Meghalaya, Manipur and Assam, besides Union Territory of Chandigarh

The reason for the grid failure is still unknown. Reuters

The reason for grid failure is, however, yet to be ascertained. These three grids collapsed within 24 hours of the Northern Grid getting restored following a failure on Monday.

The Power Ministry has set up a three-member panel, headed by Central Electricity Authority (CEA) Chairperson A S Bakshi to look into the tripping of grids. The committee is expected to submit its report in a fortnight.


Published Date: Aug 05, 2012 10:39 AM | Updated Date: Aug 05, 2012 10:39 AM

Also See