Nagaland to hold by-election for 10-Northern Angami-I Assembly constituency on 29 July

Kohima: The by-election to the 10-Northern Angami-I Assembly constituency in Nagaland will be held on 29 July, the Election Commission of India (ECI) said on Thursday.

The seat was vacated by sitting MLA Khriehu Leizietsu on 24 May after he resigned from the post to pave way for present Nagaland chief minister Shurhozelie Liezietsu to become a full-fledged member of the Assembly.

Representational image. Reuters

Representational image. Reuters

Liezietsu, also the NPF president, was sworn in as the chief minister on 22 February after TR Zeliang had to step down following violence triggered by the announcement of ULB elections with women quota.

Three persons had died and several suffered injuries in the violence.

The date for the by-election was announced by Chief Election Officer N Moa Aier during a press meet.

The ECI, in a notification, has said that the model code of conduct has come into force with immediate effect.

Published Date: Jun 29, 2017 20:34 PM | Updated Date: Jun 29, 2017 20:34 PM

Also See