Nagaland Assembly Election 2018: Repolling in 13 booths tomorrow on EC's orders

Kohima: The Chief Electoral Officer of Nagaland on Thursday announced re-polling in 13 booths spread across nine Assembly constituencies on Friday.

The re-polling will be held from 7 am to 3 pm, Chief Electoral Officer Abhijit Sinha said.

Polling for 59 of the 60 Assembly seats was held in the north-eastern state on 27 February. Former chief minister and NDPP president Neiphiu Rio has been declared elected uncontested from Northern Angami II seat.

The nine constituencies where re-polling would be held are Tamlu, Peren, Kohima Town, Chizami, Phek, Meluri, Tizit, Pungro-Kiphire and Llongkhim-Chare.

Sinha said polling could not be held in one booth in Tamlu constituency on 27 February due to the alleged intervention of the Assam Police with claims that the booth falls under Disturbed Area Belt between Assam and Nagaland.

The Election Commission has directed that fresh poll be conducted there at some alternative temporary structure, the chief electoral officer said.

Repolling was ordered in the other booths following reports of snatching of EVMs, misuse of electoral photo identity cards and miscreants not allowing voters to exercise their franchise.
Counting will be held on 3 March.

Published Date: Mar 01, 2018 17:47 PM | Updated Date: Mar 01, 2018 17:47 PM

Also See