Mamata Banerjee says TMC will support Congress' Abhishek Manu Singhvi in upcoming RS polls from state

Kolkata: West Bengal chief minister and Trinamool Congress (TMC) supremo Mamata Banerjee on Friday said her party would support Abhishek Manu Singhvi of the Congress in the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections from the state.

Announcing the names of four TMC candidates for the polls at the party's extended core committee meeting, she said, "Abhishek Manu Singhvi and Kapil Sibal (also of the Congress) have fought many court cases for us. There was a request to me (for supporting Singhvi). We will support Singhvi in the fifth Rajya Sabha seat from West Bengal."

The Congress is, however, yet to announce the name of Singhvi as its candidate from West Bengal.

The four TMC candidates for the elections to the Upper House are Nadimul Haque, who was renominated, Subhasish Chakraborty, Abir Biswas and Santunu Sen.

Elections to the five Rajya Sabha seats from the state has been necessitated as the terms of Kunal Ghosh, Bibek Gupta and Nadimul Haque of the TMC and Tapan Sen of CPM will end on 2 April. Mukul Roy, who joined the BJP from the TMC in 2017, had already resigned from the Upper House of Parliament.

Haque is a journalist and writer by profession. Chakraborty is an advocate by profession and Sen is a consultant radiologist.

Published Date: Mar 09, 2018 17:43 PM | Updated Date: Mar 09, 2018 17:51 PM

Also See