In association with

Centre to issue rules on no-fly list by 20 June

New Delhi: The Centre is likely to release its rules on a no-fly list for unruly passengers by 20 June.

The Ministry of Civil Aviation had in May issued its draft rules for a national no-fly list and invited stakeholders' comments within the next 30 days. It had mooted a ban on flying from three months upto an indefinite period for unruly passengers.

File photo of Jayant Sinha. News18

File photo of Jayant Sinha. Image courtesy: News18

"The deadline (for comments) has passed, and we have received many suggestions. 20 June is our target date for issuing the final Civil Aviation Requirement," Minister of State for Civil Aviation Jayant Sinha said.

He said the ministry is currently evaluating the suggestions and taking the advice of the Directorate General of Civil Aviation on the matter.

The government has recommended three levels of unruly behaviour, each with a corresponding duration of flying ban of 3 months, 6 months and 2 years or more without limit.

The draft is an amendment to the existing Civil Aviation Requirement, a set of rules on unruly and disruptive passengers.

The move to revise the existing rules came in the wake of Shiv Sena MP Ravindra Gaikwad assaulting an Air India staffer with a slipper for not being able to fly business class in an all-economy flight in March.

Published Date: Jun 07, 2017 11:04 AM | Updated Date: Jun 07, 2017 11:04 AM

Also See