Hockey legend Dilip Tirkey enters Rajya Sabha

Mar 22, 2012

Bhubaneswar: Hockey legend and former Indian captain, Dilip Tirkey was among the three persons who were today declared elected unopposed to Rajya Sabja from Odisha.

Besides Tirkey, BJD leader Rabi Narayan Mohapatra of Nayagarh and A V Swamy from Nuapada, supported by the ruling BJD, were also declared elected to the upper house of Parliament to fill three vacant seats from Odisha.

Parliament of India. Reuters

The results were declared by returning officer and Assembly Secretary Amiya Kumar Sarangi after the time schedule for withdrawal of nomination was over.

As there was no other contestant in the fray for the biennial election, it would not be necessary to hold election earlier scheduled for 30 March for the three vacant seats from the state, he said.

Though four others had filed their nomination for the Rajya sabha polls, these were rejected during scrutiny as the papers were without any proposer.

The three Rajya Sabja seats had fallen vacant following completion of tenure of Kishore Mohanty, Rudra Narayan Pani and Sushila Tiriya.


Firstpost encourages open discussion and debate, but please adhere to the rules below, before posting. Comments that are found to be in violation of any one or more of the guidelines will be automatically deleted:

Personal attacks/name calling will not be tolerated. This applies to comments directed at the author, other commenters and other politicians/public figures

Please do not post comments that target a specific community, caste, nationality or religion.

While you do not have to use your real name, any commenters using any Firstpost writer's name will be deleted, and the commenter banned from participating in any future discussions.

Comments will be moderated for abusive and offensive language.

Please read our comments and moderation policy before posting