Yuvraj Singh finds no place even in 4th-string Board President's XI squad to play Australia

There was no place for Yuvraj Singh in the Board President's XI squad, making it clear that the southpaw was now not a part of even the top 74 cricketers in the country.

PTI, Sep,07 2017

New Delhi: The national selection committee on Thursday picked up a fourth string 14-member Board President's XI squad for the warm-up game against Australia, but there was no place for Yuvraj Singh, making it clear that the southpaw was now not a part of even the top 74 cricketers in the country.

The selection pattern would indicate that the top 15, who decimated Sri Lanka, are set to be retained for the Australia series with may be a minor change, while the Duleep Trophy has forced the three 'wise men' to name the next 45 players for the day/night pink ball experiment.

File photo of Yuvraj Singh. Reuters

File photo of Yuvraj Singh. Reuters

Another veteran Suresh Raina found a place in that 45, which means he was on the selectors' radar.

That made it top 60 players in the country, which left the selectors with no option but to pick some rookie Indian Premier League (IPL) as well as Vijay Hazare Trophy performers.

Yuvraj did not even find a place in this batch of 14. So that makes him outside the top 74 players in the country.

"Yuvraj's fitness standards have fallen drastically and coach Ravi Shastri and skipper Virat Kohli has time and again indicated that a certain fitness standard is a must to make the cut in the national team. The selectors want to look ahead and so does the team management," a BCCI official, privy to selection matters, told PTI on Thursday.

The Prasad-led committee selected a 14-member team that comprise some of the IPL performers like Rahul Tripathi, Nitish Rana and Washington Sundar along with completely unknown entities like Delhi's left-arm quick Kulwant Khejroliya.

Khejroliya is being considered as an exciting prospect with his ability to hit the mid-140s. He was a part of the Mumbai Indians squad for IPL 2017.

The Indian team management is looking for some left-arm fast bowling options and the move to give Khejroliya a game against an international side may just be an opportunity to test his talent.

He has played only seven List A games for Delhi last season, taking 17 wickets.

Some like Odisha's Govinda Poddar and Uttar Pradesh's Shivam Chaudhary have also been picked based on some decent Vijay Hazare Trophy performances despite not even scoring 500 runs in the First Class season.

Bengal's Shreevats Goswami was picked as the top three scorers for Bengal – Manoj Tiwary, Sudeep Chatterjee and Abhimanyu Easwaran – are playing in the Duleep Trophy.

Shreevats has scored 492 runs last season with his maiden double hundred.

A BCCI official admitted that sudden plans to reinstate the Duleep Trophy threw the selectors' plans haywire.

"The Duleep Trophy certainly sent the selectors' plans haywire. With Duleep on, this was the best set of domestic players available. People like Rahul and Washington have done well in the IPL while a few like Govinda and Shivam did decently in the Vijay Hazare Trophy for their state sides," the BCCI official told PTI on conditions of anonymity.

IPL specialist Mayank Agarwal did not do anything last season but has been picked due to a lack of options. Agarwal has also been a big flop in the IPL, but in this year's ongoing Karnataka Premier League, found favour due to his past performances.

India reject Gurkeerat Mann, who failed to make the cut in Duleep teams, has also got a chance.

The fast bowlers have all been picked based on their talent more than wickets. There is Kulwant along with Madhya Pradesh's former India U-19 player Avesh Khan and Gujarat's Kushang Patel. Punjab swing bowler Sandeep Sharma is also there in the squad.

There are two left-arm spinners in Tamil Nadu's Rahil Shah and Maharashtra's Akshay Karnewar.

Squad: Rahul Tripathi, Mayank Agarwal, Shivam Chaudhary, Nitish Rana, Govinda Poddar, Gurkeerat Mann, Shreevats Goswami, Akshay Karnewar, Kulwant Khejroliya, Kushang Patel, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Washington Sundar, Rahil Shah.

Coach: Hemang Badani.

Published Date: Sep 07, 2017 | Updated Date: Sep 07, 2017

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 5313 121
2 South Africa 4484 115
3 Australia 4174 104
4 New Zealand 3489 100
5 England 4829 99
6 Sri Lanka 4374 95
Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 7594 122
2 South Africa 6911 117
3 New Zealand 6716 116
4 England 6936 116
5 Australia 6376 112
6 Pakistan 4877 96
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 3272 126
2 Australia 2513 126
3 India 3770 122
4 New Zealand 3013 116
5 West Indies 2538 115
6 England 2402 114