Vijay Hazare Trophy: Ashish Nehra included in Rishabh Pant-led Delhi squad; Unmukt Chand snubbed

PTI, Feb, 16 2017

New Delhi: With an aim of making it to the Indian squad for the Champions Trophy in England, Ashish Nehra is all set to play three matches for the Rishabh Pant-led Delhi in the Vijay Hazare National One Day tournament in Cuttack

The notable omission has been former India U-19 World Cup-winning captain Unmukt Chand, who incidentally had led Delhi in a few Ranji Trophy matches this season.

Unmukt's inconsistency has been a talking point for past three seasons now and exclusion from Vijay Hazare Trophy can impact his IPL bid.

Ashish Nehra will keep the upcoming Champions Trophy in mind while playing in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. AP

Ashish Nehra will keep the upcoming Champions Trophy in mind while playing in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. AP

As announced earlier, young wicketkeeper-batsman Pant will be leading the squad that also has former captains like Shikhar Dhawan and Gautam Gambhir.

It will be after a couple of years that Nehra will be playing in the National One Day tournament having made an impressive comeback in the T20 version.

But the 38-year-old will only play three out of the six matches because the recovery time needed will be more for the veteran speedster.

The additional member of the squad is a rookie left-arm speedster Kulwant Khejroliya, who recently was seen bowling at a brisk pace at the Delhi Daredevils nets. Kulwant will travel with the team, and if need be play a List A match.

Mohit Ahlawat, who recently scored a 300 in a 30-yard-park, has been rewarded for the hype that has surrounded his performance in an unsanctioned local T20 tournament.

Ahlawat, who had scored five runs in three Ranji Trophy matches including a hat-trick of ducks, is among the four stand-byes.

Squad: Rishabh Pant (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Gautam Gambhir, Ashish Nehra, Milind Kumar, Dhruv Shorey, Sarthak Ranjan, Himmat Singh, Nitish Rana, Manan Sharma, Pawan Negi, Pulkit Narang, Pradeep Sangwan, Navdeep Saini, Vikas Tokas.

16th Member: Kulwant Khejroliya (three matches).

Standby: Aditya Kaushik, Tejas Baroka, Mohit Ahlawat, Subodh Bhati.

Published Date: Feb 16, 2017 | Updated Date: Feb 16, 2017

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 4493 125
2 South Africa 3395 110
3 England 4097 105
4 Australia 3087 100
5 New Zealand 3114 97
Rank Team Points Rating
1 South Africa 5957 119
2 Australia 5505 117
3 India 4579 114
4 England 5645 113
5 New Zealand 5123 111
Rank Team Points Rating
1 New Zealand 1625 125
2 England 1962 123
3 Pakistan 2417 121
4 West Indies 2222 117
5 India 2183 115