Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe, 4th ODI at Hambantota: Highlights and cricket result

Catch the Live score and ball-to-ball updates from the 4th ODI between Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe at Hambantota

FP Sports, Jul, 08 2017

3rd ODI, Report: Openers Niroshan Dickwella and Danushka Gunathilaka hit sublime centuries to help Sri Lanka humble Zimbabwe by eight wickets in the third one-day international in Hambantota on Thursday.

Chasing 311 for victory, the hosts rode on a 229-run opening stand between Dickwella (102) and Gunathilaka (116) to canter home in 47.2 overs and earn a 2-1 lead in the five-match series.

The left-handed batting duo got their maiden ODI hundreds to overshadow Zimbabwe opener Hamilton Masakadza's sparkling 111 in the visitors' 310-8 after being put into bat first.

Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews (L) and Zimbabwe skipper Graeme Cremer (R). AFP

Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews (L) and Zimbabwe skipper Graeme Cremer (R). AFP

While wicketkeeper-batsman Dickwella hit 14 boundaries during his stay, Gunathilaka smashed 15 fours and a six to flay the Zimbabwe attack at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium.

"It was a fantastic effort by the boys. After losing the first game, we had our backs against the wall and we came back well," Sri Lanka skipper Angelo Mathews said.

"The way Dickwella and Gunathilaka batted, we could have chased 350 on that wicket," he said of his team that hunted down a 300-plus run target for the first time on home soil.

However, the ICC fined Mathews 20 percent of his match fee for his team's slow over rate while the rest of the team was slapped with a 10 percent penalty.

ICC match referee Chris Broad imposed the fine after finding the Sri Lankans one over short of its target when the time allowance was take into consideration, the ICC said.

It warned that should there be another infringement in the next 12 months under  Mathews' captaincy, he will face a   suspension.

Off-spinner Malcolm Waller got Dickwella trudging back to the pavilion and left-arm orthodox Sean Williams cleaned up Gunathilaka, who received the man of the match award, in an otherwise disappointing show by the Zimbabwe bowlers.

Upul Tharanga (44) and Kusal Mendis (28) then steered the team home with an unbeaten 75-run stand as the batting duo survived a dropped catch each as fielding lapses also hurt the visitors.

"The bowlers came back pretty well after the start that they (Zimbabwe) got. Hamilton played brilliantly, credit should go to him as well but the bowlers did well to keep them to 310," said Mathews.

Mathews also praised Tharanga, who is unbeaten in the series so far, for being "an absolute team man" after he once again dropped down the order to allow Dickwella and Gunathilaka to open the innings.

Earlier Masakadza put on a crucial 127-run partnership for the second wicket with Tarisai Musakanda (48) before Sri Lankan bowlers struck back to check Zimbabwe's surge.

Masakadza's 98-ball knock, laced with 15 fours and a six, had Zimbabwe eyeing 350-plus at one point before a middle-order collapse pulled them back.

Teenage leg-spinner Wanindu Hasaranga, who took a hat-trick on his ODI debut in the second match in Galle, and paceman Asela Gunaratne grabbed two wickets each.

Sean Williams contributed with a gutsy 43 while cameos from wicketkeeper-batsman Peter Moor (24) and Sikandar Raza (25 not out) helped Zimbabwe cross the 300-run mark.

"We need to get runs on the board batting first, but 310 was enough, we just need to get better with the field... Our bowling was probably under par (as well)," Zimbabwe skipper Graeme Cremer said.

The action now shifts to the fourth ODI on Saturday at the same venue.

With inputs from AFP

Published Date: Jul 08, 2017 | Updated Date: Jul 08, 2017

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 4493 125
2 South Africa 3395 110
3 England 4497 105
4 New Zealand 3114 97
5 Australia 3294 97
Rank Team Points Rating
1 South Africa 5957 119
2 Australia 5505 117
3 India 5266 117
4 England 5645 113
5 New Zealand 5123 111
Rank Team Points Rating
1 New Zealand 1625 125
2 England 1962 123
3 Pakistan 2417 121
4 West Indies 2222 117
5 India 2183 115