Vijay Goel clears air on Sports Code, says government officers can hold posts in NSFs

PTI, Jul, 19 2017

New Delhi: Sports minister Vijay Goel on Wednesday rubbished reports that government servants cannot be elected to National Sports Federations (NSFs), saying government officials can hold posts in any sports body for one term under the present Sports Code.

File photo of Union sports minister Vijay Goel. PTI

File photo of Union sports minister Vijay Goel. PTI

"Minister of State for Youth Affairs & Sports Vijay Goel clarified in a statement issued to the media that the present Sports Code allows Government officers to hold posts in any sports body only for one term," the ministry said in a statement.

"There is no such provision to debar Ministers in the existing Code. The age limit of 70 years for President, Secretary and Treasurer of NSF and tenure limit of 12 years is also there in the existing Code."

There were media reports that Sports Ministry's nine- member committee, constituted to re-draft the National Sports Development Code of India (NSDCI) has proposed that Ministers and government servants can't be elected to the NSFs.

However, Goel informed that the Committee has given its report to the Government which, in turn, has submitted it to Delhi High Court.

"So far, the Government has not made consultation with the stakeholders and no decision on the recommendation has been taken yet," Ministry said.

There were also reports that the BCCI was mulling to embrace the revised version of the Sports Code.

However, the Sports Ministry said it "has no role in the matter as it has not received any directions from the Supreme Court or any other Court with regard to BCCI.

Published Date: Jul 19, 2017 | Updated Date: Jul 19, 2017

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 4493 125
2 South Africa 3395 110
3 England 4097 105
4 Australia 3087 100
5 New Zealand 3114 97
Rank Team Points Rating
1 South Africa 5957 119
2 Australia 5505 117
3 India 4579 114
4 England 5645 113
5 New Zealand 5123 111
Rank Team Points Rating
1 New Zealand 1625 125
2 England 1962 123
3 Pakistan 2417 121
4 West Indies 2222 117
5 India 2183 115