Ranji Trophy: Yuvraj Singh to lead Punjab against Railways, Varon Aaron named captain of Jharkhand

PTI, Oct, 03 2016

In Harbhajan Singh's absence, Yuvraj Singh will lead Punjab in their opening Ranji Trophy match against Railways, to be played at the Palam Ground from 6 to 9 October.

Off-spinner Harbhajan, who was named the skipper, is not available for the first match, PCA spokesperson Sushil Kapoor said on Monday.

File photo of Yuvraj Singh. PTI

File photo of Yuvraj Singh. PTI

"Off spinner Arpit Pannu will be replacing Harbhajan in the match," Kapoor said.

The other members of the team are Jeevanjot Singh, Manan Vohra, Uday Kaul, Mandeep Singh, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Gitansh Khera (wicket keeper), Vinay Chaudhary, Siddharth Kaul, Sandeep Sharma, Manpreet Singh Grewal, Mayank Sidana, Rajwinder Singh, Subek Gill and Arpit Singh Pannu.

Speedster Varon Aaron will lead the 15-member Jharkhand team, Jharkhand State Cricket Association (JSCA) officials said on Monday.

Aaron, who is part of the India A team currently playing in Australia, will lead the Jharkhand team, said JSCA secretary Rajesh Verma.

Announcing the team in Jamshedpur, Verma said middle-order batsman Pratyush Singh will be the only new face in the team, which comprised of seven bowlers, including three spinners.

Jharkhand will start their campaign against Maharashtra at Delhi from 6 October, he said, expressing confidence that the team will perform to its potential this season.

Batsman Anand Singh, who impressed the selectors with his performance in the Under-23 team, has been elevated to the senior team based on merit, Verma said.

Following is the complete Jharkhand team: Varon Aaron (Captain), Ishan Kishan, S P Gautam, Anand Singh, Virat Singh, Ishan Jaggi, Saurabh Tiwari, Pratyush Singh, Kaushal Singh, Ajay Yadav, Vikash Singh, Ashish Kumar, Samar Quadri, Shahbaz Nadeem, Sunny Gupta.

Published Date: Oct 03, 2016 | Updated Date: Oct 03, 2016

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 4493 125
2 South Africa 3395 110
3 England 4097 105
4 Australia 3087 100
5 New Zealand 3114 97
Rank Team Points Rating
1 South Africa 5957 119
2 Australia 5505 117
3 India 4579 114
4 England 5645 113
5 New Zealand 5123 111
Rank Team Points Rating
1 New Zealand 1625 125
2 England 1962 123
3 Pakistan 2417 121
4 West Indies 2222 117
5 India 2183 115