IPL 2017: Watch Mumbai Indians' owners and players celebrate decade-long association with tournament

FP Sports, Apr, 13 2017

Mumbai Indians – the founding member franchise of Indian Premier League since 2008, celebrated a decade-long completion of its cricketing excellence in Mumbai on 10 April.

Pegged as ‘MI10’ – Igniting Passion For 10 Years, the Mumbai Indians’ 10 year celebration saw a galaxy of past and present Mumbai Indians cricketers and support staff including current India coach Anil Kumble, Sanath Jayasuriya, Shikhar Dhawan, Harsha Bhogle and former Indian cricketers like, Sunil Gavaskar, Ajay Jadeja, Abey Kuruvilla arrive at the franchise owners’ residence.

Mrs Nita Ambani, on the occasion, felicitated cricketing legend and Mumbai Indians ‘Icon’ Sachin Tendulkar, Harbhajan Singh and Lasith Malinga for their invaluable contribution to the team over the decade. Mumbai Indians is the only franchise amongst the IPL founding members, which has three members being part of the club since its inception. The trio is known as the ‘Spine’, ‘Sprit’ and the ‘Soul’ in the Mumbai Indians inner-circle.

‘MI10’ celebration was also an event to mark Mumbai Indians emergence as the best sports club brand not just in Asia but globally. These ten years have seen Mumbai Indians win 2 IPL and an equal Champions League T20 trophies. Many young talents like Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Axar Patel, Ambati Rayudu etc – who once were little known in cricket circle, have been unearthed by Mumbai Indians, providing them with a platform to hone their skills with the mix of world’s best cricketing support staff. Today these youngsters have gone to represent India and have contributed in brining glory to the nation.

As a commemorative to the 10 glorious years, Mr Mukesh Ambani along with Sachin Tendulkar, Harbhajan Singh, Lasith Malinga, Nita Ambani and Akash Ambani joint together to release a memorabilia book encapsulating the decade-long journey with interesting anecdotes, interviews and comments from all past and present Mumbai Indians cricketers.

Published Date: Apr 13, 2017 | Updated Date: Apr 13, 2017

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 4493 125
2 South Africa 3395 110
3 England 4097 105
4 Australia 3087 100
5 New Zealand 3114 97
Rank Team Points Rating
1 South Africa 5957 119
2 Australia 5505 117
3 India 4717 115
4 England 5645 113
5 New Zealand 5123 111
Rank Team Points Rating
1 New Zealand 1625 125
2 England 1962 123
3 Pakistan 2417 121
4 West Indies 2222 117
5 India 2183 115