India vs Sri Lanka: Schedule of Virat Kohli and Co's upcoming tour announced by SLC

FP Sports, Jul, 07 2017

India will play three Tests, five ODIs and a one-off  T20I in their upcoming tour of Sri Lanka, which is to take place between 26 July and 6 September, as per the latest announcement.

Indian cricket team celebrating a wicket in an ODI against Windies. AP

Indian cricket team celebrating a wicket in an ODI against Windies. AP

The tour to Sri Lanka, the Test leg of which will start on 26 July, is a 43-day long affair, with the solitary T20I taking place in Colombo, as per a statement by Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) which was carried in a report on Cricbuzz.

The event would start just 17 days after India's tour of Windies, which too would be capped off by a solitary T20I against a team that retained its stars in the format in Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Carlos Brathwaite (captain), etc.

India and Sri Lanka played their only full series against each other — three Tests, five ODIs and two T20 matches — in India in 2009. India won the Test series 2-0, the ODI 3-1 and drew the T20 segment 1-1.

According to the schedule, the action will shift to the Sinhalese Sporting Club (SSC) in Colombo and the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy for the second and the third Test respectively.

After the action-packed Test series, the teams will put on coloured clothing and take part in the ODI series, with the first match being played in Dambulla on 20 August.

India will then face their rivals in Kandy for the second and third ODIs, before finally heading back to Colombo for the remaining two ODIs. The T20I will also be played in Colombo at R Premadasa Stadium.

India could be looking at some revenge for their defeat to the Lankans at the ICC Champions Trophy 2017, where 'Men in Blue' were stunned by the young pair of Kusal Mendis and Danushka Gunathilaka.

India's last tour of Sri Lanka was two years ago in August 2015 when they played a Test series which they won 2-1.

While India pulled off a 3-1 series win in the ODI leg of the tour of Windies, Sri Lanka currently lead the five-match one-day series against Zimbabwe 2-1, having won the third ODI by chasing a stiff 306-run target with eight wickets to spare. Zimbabwe had earlier caused an upset when they chased the 317-run target set by Sri Lanka in the first ODI in Galle.

Full schedule of India's tour of Sri Lanka:

1st Test: 26-30 July , Galle

2nd Test: 3-7 August, Colombo (SSC)

3rd Test: 12-16 August, Pallekele

1st ODI: 20 August, Dambulla

2nd ODI: 24 August, Pallekele

3rd ODI: 27 August, Pallekele

4th ODI: 31 August, Colombo (R Premadasa)

5th ODI: 3 September, Colombo (R Premadasa)

One-off T20I: 6 September, Colombo (R Premadasa)

With inputs from AFP

Published Date: Jul 07, 2017 | Updated Date: Jul 07, 2017

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 4493 125
2 South Africa 3395 110
3 England 4097 105
4 Australia 3087 100
5 New Zealand 3114 97
Rank Team Points Rating
1 South Africa 5957 119
2 Australia 5505 117
3 India 4579 114
4 England 5645 113
5 New Zealand 5123 111
Rank Team Points Rating
1 New Zealand 1625 125
2 England 1962 123
3 Pakistan 2417 121
4 West Indies 2222 117
5 India 2183 115