India vs Australia: Hosts' squad for four-match Test series to be named on Tuesday

PTI, Feb, 13 2017

Mumbai: Barring any surprises, the selectors are likely to retain the same 16-member squad that figured in the 208-run victory over Bangladesh when they meet in Mumbai on Tuesday to choose the team for the upcoming four-Test series against Australia.

India extended their longest-ever unbeaten run in Tests to 19 with win over Bangladesh. AFP

India extended their longest-ever unbeaten run in Tests to 19 with win over Bangladesh. AFP

With there being no word on the availability or otherwise of Bengal speedster Mohammed Shami, who got injured during the five-Test rubber against England and subsequently lost his father, the four-member pace attack chosen for the Test against Bangladesh is expected to be retained.

Leggie Amit Mishra, chosen originally in the squad, got injured and made way for Chinaman bowler Kuldeep Yadav who, thus, is also expected to be retained in the squad.

The first Test in the series for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy commences at Pune's Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium on 23 February to be followed by the next three games at Bengaluru (4-8 March), Ranchi (16-20 March) and Dharamshala (25-29March).

The Australian squad, led by Steve Smith, arrived in Mumbai on Tuesday ahead of the four-match rubber and will play a three-day warm-up game against an India A squad led by Hardik Pandya at the Cricket Club of India's Brabourne Stadium from 17-19 February  before proceeding to Pune.

Published Date: Feb 13, 2017 | Updated Date: Feb 13, 2017

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 4493 125
2 South Africa 3395 110
3 England 4097 105
4 Australia 3087 100
5 New Zealand 3114 97
Rank Team Points Rating
1 South Africa 5957 119
2 Australia 5505 117
3 India 4579 114
4 England 5645 113
5 New Zealand 5123 111
Rank Team Points Rating
1 New Zealand 1625 125
2 England 1962 123
3 Pakistan 2417 121
4 West Indies 2222 117
5 India 2183 115