ICC Champions Trophy 2017: Sri Lanka's Danushka Gunathilaka to replace injured Chamara Kapugedera against India

AFP, Jun, 08 2017

London: Sri Lanka batsman Chamara Kapugedera was ruled out of the rest of the Champions Trophy after suffering an injury in practice on Wednesday.

Kapugedera sustained what the International Cricket Council later confirmed was a knee injury on the eve of Sri Lanka's second match in the tournament against India at the Oval on Thursday.

File image of Sri Lanka's Chamara Kapugedera. AFP

File image of Sri Lanka's Chamara Kapugedera. AFP

The ICC said its event technical committee had approved Danushka Gunathilaka as a replacement for Kapugedera in the Sri Lanka squad for the tournament.

Gunathilaka, a 26-year-old left-handed top-order batsman and off-spinner, has represented Sri Lanka in 19 one-day internationals in which he has scored 420 runs and taken five wickets.

His last ODI was against Bangladesh in Colombo earlier this year.

Earlier, Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews revealed Kapugedera has gone for a scan to determine the extent of his injury.

"Yeah he just got injured at training, so we sent him for an MRI scan," Mathews told a press conference at The Oval on Wednesday.

Kapugedera's injury is the latest blow to Sri Lanka after stand-in captain Upul Tharanga, deputising for the injured Mathews, was banned for the remaining two group matches as punishment for his team's slow over rate against South Africa last weekend.

The 30-year-old middle order batsman, who made his international debut in 2006, was dismissed for nought against the South Africans as Sri Lanka lost their Group B opener by 96 runs.

Published Date: Jun 08, 2017 | Updated Date: Jun 08, 2017

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 4493 125
2 South Africa 3395 110
3 England 4097 105
4 Australia 3087 100
5 New Zealand 3114 97
Rank Team Points Rating
1 South Africa 5957 119
2 Australia 5505 117
3 India 4579 114
4 England 5645 113
5 New Zealand 5123 111
Rank Team Points Rating
1 New Zealand 1625 125
2 England 1962 123
3 Pakistan 2417 121
4 West Indies 2222 117
5 India 2183 115