History created: Mithali, Jhulan lead India women to first series win over world champions Australia

hidden, Jan, 30 2016

Melbourne: The Indian women's cricket team scripted history by clinching its maiden Twenty20 series win over three-time world champion Australia with a comprehensive 10-wicket triumph in the rain-truncated second game in Melbourne on Friday.

With this win, the Indians have established a 2-0 lead in the three-match series which will wind up on 31 January in Sydney.

Opting to bowl after winning the toss, the Indians had their more fancied rivals on the mat in overcast conditions. India restricted Australia to 125 in the match which was reduced to 18-overs-a-side following rain interruption.

The Indian team celebrates the fall of an Australian wicket. Getty Images

The Indian team celebrates the fall of an Australian wicket. Getty Images

In reply, the Indian eves came out all guns blazing and were crucising along nicely before another round of showers forced a revision of target to 66 in 10 overs.

Skipper Mithali Raj (37 not out) struck the winning runs as India overhauled the target in 9.1 overs.

In a throughly dominating performance from strat to finish, India cornered Australia early on by reducing them to 33 for three in just the fifth overs of the match.

It took a 70-run fourth-wicket stand between Aussie skipper Meg lanning (49) and Jess Jonassen (27) to steady the rocking boat. Lanning's innings was crucial in propelling Australia to 103 for three in the 14th over before disaster struck yet again.

Once Lanning was run out by Harmanpreet Kaur, the wickets also tumbled in a heap.

To their credit, Indian bowlers, especially, senior pacer and player of the match Jhulan Goswami (2/16) and leg-spinner Rajeshwari Gayakwad (2/27) ensured that the hosts' remained shackled in their scoring rate.

In reply, the Indian batswomen seemed in a hurry to wrap up the proceedings and raced to 52 for now loss in 7.5 overs before the heavens opened yet again.

Another round of recalculation followed and the target stood revised at 66 from 10 overs.

On resumption, Raj, who smacked half a dozen fours in her 32-ball knock, and Smriti Mandhana (22 not out) took no time in sealing the issue to give the team a historic triumph.

The Australians also made the visitors' job a tad easy by conceding 10 extras in the match.

For records, it the third time in 11 T20 matches that Indian eves have managed to beat Australia.

Brief Scores: Australia Women: 125/8 in 18 overs (Meg Lanning 49, Jhulan Goswami 2/16). India Women: 69/0 in 9.1 overs (target 66 via D/L method) (Mithali Raj 37 not out).


Published Date: Jan 30, 2016 | Updated Date: Jan 30, 2016

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 4493 125
2 South Africa 3395 110
3 England 4097 105
4 Australia 3087 100
5 New Zealand 3114 97
Rank Team Points Rating
1 South Africa 5957 119
2 Australia 5505 117
3 India 4579 114
4 England 5645 113
5 New Zealand 5123 111
Rank Team Points Rating
1 New Zealand 1625 125
2 England 1962 123
3 Pakistan 2417 121
4 West Indies 2222 117
5 India 2183 115