Highlights, South Africa vs Bangladesh, 1st T20I at Bloemfontein: Proteas defeat visitors by 20 runs

Catch all the live scores and updates from the first T20 international between South Africa and Bangladesh

FirstCricket Staff, Oct,26 2017

Toggle between tabs for live scores and updates and ball-by-ball commentary

Preview: Shakib Al Hasan will be Bangladesh’s third captain on a disappointing tour of South Africa as they seek to regain some pride in two Twenty20 internationals, starting in Bloemfontein Thursday.

File image of JP Duminy and Shakib Al Hasan. AFP

File image of JP Duminy and Shakib Al Hasan. AFP

Bangladesh's all-time leading all-rounder was reappointed T20 captain after a seven-year gap following the retirement from the format of Mashrafe Mortaza.

Aiden Markram scored a half-century and took two wickets on his one-day international debut as South Africa completed a clean sweep of their three-match series against Bangladesh with a crushing 200-run victory at Buffalo Park on Sunday.

Markram contributed 66 from 60 balls as South Africa posted 369 for six from their 50 overs, with Faf du Plessis (91 from 67 balls) and Quinton de Kock (73 from 68) also in the runs.

Du Plessis retired hurt with a lower back strain and has been withdrawn from the two-match Twenty20 International series that starts in Bloemfontein on Thursday as JP Duminy takes over the captaincy duties.

Bangladesh slipped to 61 for five in reply and were eventually all out for 169 as Markram claimed two for 18, including the wicket of Shakib Al Hasan (63 from 82), who provided the lone score of note for the visitors.



South Africa: JP Duminy (capt), Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock (wkt), AB de Villiers, Robbie Frylinck, Beuran Hendricks, David Miller, Mangaliso Mosehle (wkt), Dane Paterson, Aaron Phangiso, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Tabraiz Shamsi

Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Imrul Kayes, Liton Das (wkt), Mahmudullah, Mehidy Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim (wkt), Nasir Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Shafiul Islam, Soumya Sarkar, Taskin Ahmed


26 October: Bloemfontein

29 October: Potchefstroom

With inputs from agencies

Published Date: Oct 26, 2017 | Updated Date: Oct 27, 2017

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 4969 124
2 South Africa 3888 111
3 Australia 4174 104
4 New Zealand 3489 100
5 England 4829 99
6 Sri Lanka 4058 94
Rank Team Points Rating
1 South Africa 6386 120
2 India 6680 119
3 New Zealand 6650 117
4 England 6483 116
5 Australia 6077 113
6 Pakistan 4875 96
Rank Team Points Rating
1 New Zealand 2262 126
2 Pakistan 2843 124
3 India 3385 121
4 England 2029 119
5 West Indies 2538 115
6 South Africa 2238 112