Australian women's cricket team to no longer be called 'Southern Stars' as CA aims for gender equality

FP Sports, Jun, 12 2017

Why does a women's sports team need to be referred to by a nickname, which gives no indication of the country to which it belongs? That's not gender equality, is it?

And that is something which Cricket Australia has realised, and as the first measure, has decided that the women's cricket team would no longer be called 'Southern Stars' as they have been so far in official communication; instead, they would be simply called the Australian women's cricket team, according to a report in ESPNCricinfo.

File photo of Australian women's cricket team. Reuters

File photo of Australian women's cricket team. Reuters

The members of the country's women's cricket team have for long wondered what the merit was for awarding the team a special name, when the men's team did not warrant any. This decision by CA now places the women cricketers on an equal footing, according to CA chairman David Peever.

The decision was announced at a function in Brisbane to felicitate the Australian teams that won the Women's World Cup in 1978, 1982, 1988, 1997, 2005 and 2013.

"This move may appear symbolic, but it does carry considerable weight," Peever said. "Cricket cannot hope to be a sport for all Australians if it does not recognise the power of words, and the respect for women that sits behind such decisions."

The CA chairman recognised the contribution made by the country's women cricketers, saying that they were "among the very best sportspeople this country has ever produced", while underlining the fact that Australia have clinched six Women's World Cup titles and have won over 87 percent of all the matches they have ever played in. Peever also noted that the current team is No 1 across all formats. He, however, acknowledged the appeal of the 'Southern Stars' brand and noted that the nickname may still be in informal use.

The decision was influenced by the suggestion of prominent businesswoman Ann Sherry at last year's Australian Cricket Conference, revealed Peever.

Australian captain Meg Lanning welcomed the decision. "I think it’s a big step towards gender equality and it’s great that Cricket Australia have recognised that,” she told Australian Broadcasting Corporation on Thursday.

The Australian team under Lanning will leave on Friday for the Women's World Cup, to be held in England between 24 June and 23 July. Australia will play a warm-up match against South Africa on 20 June, before their tournament opener against West Indies on 26 June.

Published Date: Jun 12, 2017 | Updated Date: Jun 12, 2017

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 4493 125
2 South Africa 3395 110
3 England 4097 105
4 Australia 3087 100
5 New Zealand 3114 97
Rank Team Points Rating
1 South Africa 5957 119
2 Australia 5505 117
3 India 4579 114
4 England 5645 113
5 New Zealand 5123 111
Rank Team Points Rating
1 New Zealand 1625 125
2 England 1962 123
3 Pakistan 2417 121
4 West Indies 2222 117
5 India 2183 115