Manhole, Chitrokar: International Film Festival of Kerala to screen 18 Indian films

FP Staff

Oct,08 2016 14:47 21 IST

The organisers of the 21st International Film Festival of Kerala (IFFK) on Friday released the list of 18 Indian films in four categories, that will be screened at the festival which will take place here from December 9-16.

Over the years IFFK, which is staged soon after the International Film Festival of India in Goa, has now become a popular gala. It is organised by Kerala State Chalachitra Academy for the state-run Cultural Affairs Department.

Logo of the festival

Logo of the festival

The selection was made by a panel of experts and it includes two Malayalam films, Manhole directed by debutant Vidhu Vincent and Kaadu Pookkunna Neram by Biju, which will compete in the international section.

The other two films that will compete for international honours are Saibal Mitra's Bengali film Chitrokar (The Last Mural) and Santwana Bardoloi's Assamese film Midnight Keteki.

There are seven Malayalam films in the Malayalam Cinema category and another seven films from other Indian languages in the Indian Cinema Category.

The organisers have decided to double the grant to Malayalam Films selected for the IFFK to Rs 200,000 and has set up a special cell at the IFFK to promote these films.

The films selected for the Malayalam cinema category on Friday include: Aaradi (directed by Saji Palamel Sreed haran), Godsay (Sherrey GovindanShyju Govind), Ka Bodyscapes (Jayan Cherian), Kammatipaadam (Rajeev Ravi), Kismath (Shanavas Bavakutty), Mohavalayam (T V Chandran) and Veeram: Macbeth (Jayaraj R).

Films selected for the Indian Cinema Now category are: Bhaapaa Ki Bhayakatha (directed by Paresh Mokashi Hindi), Chronicles of Hari Harikatha Prasanga (Ananya KasaravalliKannada), Lady of the Lake (Paban Kumar HaobamManipuri), Onaatah (Pradip Kurbah Khaasi), Revelations (Vijay JayapalTamil), TurtleKaasav (Sunil Sukthankar & Sumitra BhaveMarathi), and Westem GhatsMerku Thodarchi Malai (Lenin BharathiTamil).

The committee for the selection of Indian films included film-makers K.R. Mohanan and Madhupal, cinematographer Fowzia Fathim, former Deputy Director of PRD Manojkumar, film-maker Rajiv Vijayaraghavan and Mr. Panju.

Published Date: Oct 08, 2016 14:47 PM | Updated Date: Oct 08, 2016 14:47 PM